Bantaba in Cyberspace
Bantaba in Cyberspace
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ | Invite a friend
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Politics Forum
 Politics: Gambian politics
 A question of Gambian Law .
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
| More
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

toubab1020

8980 Posts

Posted - 14 Nov 2017 :  13:11:15  Show Profile Send toubab1020 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I am no legal expert, maybe some READER can POST & explain if Judge Kumba Sillah-Camara has the power to issue a warrant for contempt of court against lawyer E.E. Chime ? or are members of the legal profession appearing as representatives of Defendants not subject to such a sanction ?

========================================================================

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

The presiding Judge Kumba Sillah-Camara yesterday expressed concern over the continued absence of lawyer E.E. Chime, the legal counsel for Yankuba Badjie, the 1st accused person in the criminal trial involving the state against the former officials of the defunct NIA.

The accused persons are Yankuba Badjie, Louie Richard Leese Gomez, Saihou Omar Jeng, Babucarr Sallah, Yusupha Jammeh, Haruna Susso, Tamba Mansary, Lamin Darboe and Lamin Lang Sanyang and they are charged with 26 counts including conspiracy to commit murder, murder, assault causing grievous bodily harm, abduction, making false document without authority amongst others.

During the last court sitting the prosecution called assistant commissioner of police, Abdoulie Sanneh who testified as the 3rd prosecution witness and the matter was adjourned to yesterday for the defence counsel for the 1st accused, Yankuba Badjie to cross examine the witness.

During yesterday sitting, the court again observed that lawyer E.E. Chime was absent from court without furnishing the court reason (s) for his absence.